State Holidays

The California State Treasurer’s Office will be closed on certain State holidays. 

Currently State holidays observed by the State Treasurer’s Office are January 1 (New Year’s Day); the third Monday in January (Martin Luther King Jr.’s Birthday); the third Monday in February (President’s Birthday); April 1 (Cesar Chavez’ Birthday Observed); the last Monday in May (Memorial Day); July 4 (Independence Day); the first Monday in September (Labor Day); November 11 (Veteran’s Day); Thanksgiving Day and the day after Thanksgiving; and December 25 (Christmas Day ).  If January 1, March 31, July 4, November 11, or December 25 falls on a Sunday, the following Monday shall be deemed the holiday in lieu of the day observed.  If November 11 falls on a Saturday, the preceding Friday shall be deemed to be the holiday in lieu of the day observed.  Certain State holidays may fall on days that are not banking holidays, and as noted, can vary from year to year.  The list of State holidays observed by the State Treasurer’s Office may, from time to time, be changed in accordance with the laws of the State.

Documents under which the State Treasurer acts as trustee or paying agent exclude the State holidays observed by the State Treasurer from the definition of “Business Day.”  Generally, if any payment is due on a day other than a business day, such payment will be made on the next succeeding business day, and no interest will accrue as a result.

 “Business day” is typically defined in the respective authorizing documents to mean any day other than a Saturday, a Sunday, a State holiday and any other day specifically designated in such document to not be a business day, e.g. any day when the principal office of a trustee or paying agent is authorized to be closed or on which the New York Stock Exchange is closed.  

Please contact Investor Relations for more information at 1(800)900-3873 or

The State holidays for 2024 are listed below.

2024 State Holidays